History / Social Studies

"History does not refer merely to the past. On the contrary, the great force of history comes from the fact that we carry it within us, are unconsciously controlled by it in many ways,

and history is literally present in all we do.” 

-James Baldwin

 

The History and Social Studies Department at Harwood Union Middle and High School has students explore a wide range of historical eras, by utilizing a variety of academic skills. Through the use of inquiry and historical thinking, students examine the past to make better sense of the present while also thinking about how their learning can impact the future. As stated in our school’s Mission Statement, “Harwood Union Middle/High School will provide an educational and creative environment, in which every person is valued as an individual, challenged as a learner, and inspired to contribute to a democratic society.” Such an ideal is at the center of the work being done in the History and Social Studies Department.

Department Contacts

Katherine Cadwell, Rowland Foundation Fellow
802-583-8279 - kcadwell@huusd.org

Nicholas Gordon, Social Studies Teacher - Middle School
802-583-8289 - ngordon@huusd.org

Matt Henchen, Social Studies Teacher
802-583-8287 - mhenchen@huusd.org

Sarah Ibson, Social Studies Teacher - Middle School 
802-583-8294 - sibson@huusd.org

Paul Kramer, HCLC Humanities Teacher
802-244-1270 - pkramer@huusd.org

Rob MacLeod, Social Studies Teacher
802-583-8292 - rmacleod@huusd.org

Ryan McCormick, Social Studies Teacher
802-583-8293 - rmccormick@huusd.org

Adam Sargent, Social Studies Teacher
802-583-8256 - asargent@huusd.org

Greg Shepler, Social Studies Teacher
802-583-8271 - gshepler@huusd.org

Harwood Union High School  
458 VT RTE 100
Moretown, VT 05660
Phone: (802)244-5186
Fax: (802)882-1199

© 2020 HUHS Part of the Harwood Unified Union School District.          Contact Webmaster

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon