History / Social Studies

"History does not refer merely to the past. On the contrary, the great force of history comes from the fact that we carry it within us, are unconsciously controlled by it in many ways,

and history is literally present in all we do.” 

-James Baldwin

 

The History and Social Studies Department at Harwood Union Middle and High School has students explore a wide range of historical eras, by utilizing a variety of academic skills. Through the use of inquiry and historical thinking, students examine the past to make better sense of the present while also thinking about how their learning can impact the future. As stated in our school’s Mission Statement, “Harwood Union Middle/High School will provide an educational and creative environment, in which every person is valued as an individual, challenged as a learner, and inspired to contribute to a democratic society.” Such an ideal is at the center of the work being done in the History and Social Studies Department.

Department Contacts

Nicholas

Gordon

Middle School History

ngordon@huusd.org
802-583-8289

Sarah

Ibson

Middle School History

sibson@huusd.org
802-583-8294

Rob

MacLeod

High School History

rmacleod@huusd.org
802-583-8292

Adam

Sargent

High School History

asargent@huusd.org
802-583-8256

Matt

Henchen

High School History

mhenchen@huusd.org
802-583-8287

Paul

Kramer

HCLC Humanities

pkramer@huusd.org
802-244-1270

Jane

Regan

High School History

jregan@huusd.org
802-583-8271

Phil

Stetson

High School History

pststson@huusd.org
802-583-8293