Mathematics

We know that EVERYONE can be smart and succeed in mathematics. The goal of the Harwood math department is to develop student reasoning skills and problem solving capabilities. We teach using The Best Practices model for mathematics. ​The Best Practices philosophy stresses the importance of student discourse about mathematics. 

 

Students will be introduced to cognitively demanding tasks and engage in the Math Habits of Mind and Math Habits of Interaction. The habits of mind are based around the Common Core Standards for Mathematical Practices. Discourse between students is structured in order to have students talk in the manner of professional mathematicians. Below are descriptions of the Habits of Mind and Habits of Interaction that we teach our students to embody.

Students are required to take Integrated Math I, II and III and are encouraged to take additional elective courses to broaden their math understanding. Through these courses, students will explore a variety of topics in algebra, geometry, statistics & probability. Students will be assessed on the Learning Expectations of Communication, Integrative Thinking, Problem Solving, and Self-Direction. Additional details about course topics and performance indicators can be found in course syllabi. 

 

Below is a flow chart outlining the math courses and different flexible pathways students can take to achieve their mathematics graduation requirements. Additional detail about courses can be found in the program of studies.

 

Email is the preferred method of contact for all of the math teachers.

Department Contacts

Becky Allen, Math Teacher
802-583-8291 - ballen@huusd.org

Andy Bishop, Math Teacher 

802-583-8258 - abishop@huusd.org

​Katelyn Bouffard, Math Teacher - Middle School

802-538-8288 - kbouffard@huusd.org

Sarah Butler, Math Teacher
802-583-8295 - sbutler@huusd.org

Tara Kelley, Math Teacher

​802-538-8299- tkelley@huusd.org

Jason Reichert, Math Teacher
802-583-8274 - jreichert@huusd.org

Kendra Renz, Math Teacher - Middle School 
802-583-8281 - krenz@huusd.org

Tom Strasser, Math Teacher
802-583-8301 - tstrasser@huusd.org

Harwood Union High School  
458 VT RTE 100
Moretown, VT 05660
Phone: (802)244-5186
Fax: (802)882-1199

© 2020 HUHS Part of the Harwood Unified Union School District.          Contact Webmaster

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon