Mathematics

We know that EVERYONE can be smart and succeed in mathematics. The goal of the Harwood math department is to develop student reasoning skills and problem solving capabilities. We teach using The Best Practices model for mathematics. ​The Best Practices philosophy stresses the importance of student discourse about mathematics. 

 

Students will be introduced to cognitively demanding tasks and engage in the Math Habits of Mind and Math Habits of Interaction. The habits of mind are based around the Common Core Standards for Mathematical Practices. Discourse between students is structured in order to have students talk in the manner of professional mathematicians. Below are descriptions of the Habits of Mind and Habits of Interaction that we teach our students to embody.

Students are required to take Integrated Math I, II and III and are encouraged to take additional elective courses to broaden their math understanding. Through these courses, students will explore a variety of topics in algebra, geometry, statistics & probability. Students will be assessed on the Learning Expectations of Communication, Integrative Thinking, Problem Solving, and Self-Direction. Additional details about course topics and performance indicators can be found in course syllabi. 

 

Below is a flow chart outlining the math courses and different flexible pathways students can take to achieve their mathematics graduation requirements. Additional detail about courses can be found in the program of studies.

 

Email is the preferred method of contact for all of the math teachers.

Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 8.26.11 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 8.25.39 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 8.30.52 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 8.29.32 AM.png

Department Contacts

Becky

Allen

High School Math

ballen@huusd.org
802-583-8291

Darcy

Buret

High School Math

dburet@huusd.org
802-583-8258

Tara

Kelley

High School Math

tkelley@huusd.org
802-583-8299

Jason

Reichert

High School Math

jreichert@huusd.org
802-583-8274

Katelyn

Bouffard

Middle School Math

kbouffard@huusd.org
802-583-8288

Sarah

Butler

High School Math

sbutler@huusd.org
802-583-8295

Meghan

McCarthy

Middle School Math

mmccarthy@huusd.org
802-583-8281

Tom

Strasser

High School Math

tstrasser@huusd.org
802-583-8301