Harwood Union High School  
458 VT RTE 100
Moretown, VT 05660
Phone: (802)244-5186
Fax: (802)882-1199

© 2020 HUHS Part of the Harwood Unified Union School District.          Contact Webmaster

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

English / Language Arts

The overarching goal of the English department is for each of our students to read, write, and speak well. Students in our English classes analyze and create poetry, short stories, novels, informational text, and other forms of audio/visual media. The department has partnered with History to offer team-taught Humanities courses for ninth and eleventh graders. We work to help students develop their voices so that they can be successful in their future schooling, in their careers, and as citizens.


Harwood Union High School graduates who have completed their four years of English are able to demonstrate proficiency in reading, writing, and speaking, according to the Anchor Standards of the Common Core State Standards. The skills for reading include an awareness of key ideas and details, of authorial craft, and of the connections between key concepts. The skills for writing include the ability to construct arguments, informational pieces, and narratives that are coherent, grammatically correct, and well-supported. The skills for speaking include effective participation in discussions and the ability to present information clearly.

Department Contacts

Jonah Ibson, English Teacher
802-583-8277 - jibson@huusd.org

 

Paul Kramer, English / Humanities Teacher
802-244-1270 - pkramer@huusd.org

 

Tedin Lange, English Teacher
802-583-8300 - tlange@huusd.org

 

Jacki McCarty, English Teacher - Middle School 
802-583-8273 - jmccarty@huusd.org

 

Dan Morse, English Teacher
802-583-8268 - dmorse@huusd.org

 

Jon Potts, English Teacher - Middle School 
802-583-8276 - jpotts@huusd.org

 

Steve Rand, English Teacher
802-583-8296 - srand@huusd.org

 

Kate Stauss, English Teacher
802-583-8278 - kstauss@huusd.org

Chris Whalen, English Teacher
802-583-8267 - cwhalen@huusd.org