English / Language Arts

The overarching goal of the English department is for each of our students to read, write, and speak well. Students in our English classes analyze and create poetry, short stories, novels, informational text, and other forms of audio/visual media. The department has partnered with History to offer team-taught Humanities courses for ninth and eleventh graders. We work to help students develop their voices so that they can be successful in their future schooling, in their careers, and as citizens.


Harwood Union High School graduates who have completed their four years of English are able to demonstrate proficiency in reading, writing, and speaking, according to the Anchor Standards of the Common Core State Standards. The skills for reading include an awareness of key ideas and details, of authorial craft, and of the connections between key concepts. The skills for writing include the ability to construct arguments, informational pieces, and narratives that are coherent, grammatically correct, and well-supported. The skills for speaking include effective participation in discussions and the ability to present information clearly.

Department Contacts

Eve

Berinati

High School English

eberinati@huusd.org
802-583-8267

Jonah

Ibson

High School English

jibson@huusd.org
802-583-8277

Tedin

Lange

High School English

tlange@huusd.org
802-583-8300

Jon

Potts

Middle School English

jpotts@huusd.org
802-583-8276

Kate

Stauss

High School English

kstauss@huusd.org
802-583-8278

Korie

Born

Middle School English

kborn@huusd.org
802-583-8273

Paul

Kramer

HCLC English

pkramer@huusd.org
802-244-1270

Dan

Morse

High School English

dmorse@huusd.org
802-583-8268

Steve

Rand

High School English

srand@huusd.org
802-583-8296