English / Language Arts

The overarching goal of the English department is for each of our students to read, write, and speak well. Students in our English classes analyze and create poetry, short stories, drama, novels, informational text, and other forms of audio/visual media. We work to help students develop their voices so that they can be successful in their future schooling, in their careers, and as citizens.

 

When Harwood Union High School graduates have completed their four years of English, they can demonstrate proficiency in our Learning Expectations with a focus in reading, writing and communication. Skills for reading include an awareness of key ideas and details, authorial craft, and the connections between key concepts. Skills for writing include the ability to construct arguments, informational pieces, and creative pieces that are coherent and well-supported, with attention to craft, grammar, and usage. Communication skills include effective participation in discussions and the ability to present information clearly.

Department Contacts

Eve

Berinati

High School English

eberinati@huusd.org
802-583-8267

Jonah

Ibson

High School English

jibson@huusd.org
802-583-8277

Tedin

Lange

High School English

tlange@huusd.org
802-583-8300

Jon

Potts

Middle School English

jpotts@huusd.org
802-583-8276

Kate

Stauss

High School English

kstauss@huusd.org
802-583-8278

Korie

Born

Middle School English

kborn@huusd.org
802-583-8273

Paul

Kramer

HCLC English

pkramer@huusd.org
802-244-1270

Dan

Morse

High School English

dmorse@huusd.org
802-583-8268

Steve

Rand

High School English

srand@huusd.org
802-583-8296