Science

The Harwood Union Science Department is currently transitioning our curriculum and instruction to align with the Next Generation Science Standards and a proficiency based system. We have expanded our senior elective course offerings and will continue to broaden our program in the next several years. The Science Department also works with other departments in developing new integrated STEM course offerings (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math).

The following are the science practices that every student will need to be proficient in to graduate from Harwood.

  1. Asking Questions and Defining Problems

  2. Developing and Using Models

  3. Planning and Carrying Out Investigations

  4. Analyzing and Interpreting Data

  5. Using Mathematics and Computational Thinking

  6. Constructing Explanations and Designing Solutions

  7. Engaging in Argument from Evidence

  8. Obtaining, Evaluating, and Communicating Information

Department Contacts

Carly Brown, Science Teacher

802-583-8264 - cbrown@huusd.org

Jessica Deane, Science Teacher
802-583-8275 - jdeane@huusd.org

Kristi McKnight, Science Teacher
802-583-8283 - kmcknight@huusd.org

Wendy Moore, Science Teacher - Middle School
802-583-8302 - wmoore@huusd.org

Alex Rawson, Science Teacher
802-583-8257 - arawson@huusd.org

Andrew Reid, Science Teacher
802-583-8259 - areid@huusd.org

Angela Selvaggio, Science Teacher - Middle School 
802-583-8260 - aselvaggio@huusd.org

Chelsea Turley, Science Teacher
802-583-8265 - cturley@huusd.org

Harwood Union High School  
458 VT RTE 100
Moretown, VT 05660
Phone: (802)244-5186
Fax: (802)882-1199

© 2020 HUHS Part of the Harwood Unified Union School District.          Contact Webmaster

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon