Science

The Harwood Union Science Department is currently transitioning our curriculum and instruction to align with the Next Generation Science Standards and a proficiency based system. We have expanded our senior elective course offerings and will continue to broaden our program in the next several years. The Science Department also works with other departments in developing new integrated STEM course offerings (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math).

The following are the science practices that every student will need to be proficient in to graduate from Harwood.

  1. Asking Questions and Defining Problems

  2. Developing and Using Models

  3. Planning and Carrying Out Investigations

  4. Analyzing and Interpreting Data

  5. Using Mathematics and Computational Thinking

  6. Constructing Explanations and Designing Solutions

  7. Engaging in Argument from Evidence

  8. Obtaining, Evaluating, and Communicating Information

Department Contacts

Susannah

Cowden

High School Science

scowden@huusd.org
802-583-8275

Kristi

McKnight

High School Science

kmcknight@huusd.org
802-583-8283

Alex

Rawson

High School Science

arawson@huusd.org
802-583-8257

Angela

Selvaggio

Middle School Science

aselvaggio@huusd.org
802-583-8260

Heather

Lessor

High School Science

hlessor@huusd.org
802-583-8265

Wendy

Moore

Middle School Science

wmoore@huusd.org
802-583-8302

Andrew

Reid

High School Science

areid@huusd.org
802-583-8259

Chelsea

Turley

High School Science

cturley@huusd.org
802-583-8265